Growing up as mountain folk in East Tennessee, two-time GRAMMY nominee and 13 time Dove award winner Cindy Morgan, learned to write and play music with its roots in gospel. Today, Cindy’s writing is arriving at fans in a new way, in the form of her first novel, The Year of Jubilee. She joins host Sandra McCracken in this week’s episode to talk all about it.

In this episode of The Slow Work, Sandra and Cindy talk about returning to our roots, untangling difficult family stories, and finding a way forward through writing. Cindy opens up about her childhood traveling the hollers of Appalachia, her experience working with Dolly Parton, and her desire to confront the injustice of racism while reconciling her own hard family memories.

Special Guest:
Nashville singer/songwriter Cindy Morgan is a two-time GRAMMY® nominee, a thirteen-time Dove winner, and a recipient of the prestigious Songwriter of the Year trophy. Morgan has 21 number one radio hits to her credit, and has penned songs for notable artists including David Archuletta, Vince Gill, India.Arie, TJ Shepherd, Rascal Flatts, Ricky Skaggs, Amy Grant, Glen Campbell, Mandisa, Natalie Grant, Michael W. Smith, Point of Grace, Brandon Heath, Britt Nicole, Sandra McCracken, Josh Garrels, Sierra Hull, Kris Allen, and EchoSmith among many others. In 2017, Morgan’s song “Bird in a Cage” was performed by Robert Redford and Sasha Lazard in the movie Blind starring Alec Baldwin and Demi Moore. Cindy has authored three books, Barefoot on Barbed Wire (Harvest House Publishers, 2001), Dance Me Daddy (HarperCollins, 2009), and her memoir, How Could I Ask for More (Worthy Inspired, 2015) in addition to being a co-creator of the charitable Hymns for Hunger Tour, which has raised awareness and resources for hunger relief organizations across the globe.

Resources Referenced:
Inside Out
Jayber Crow by Wendell Berry

The Slow Work is a production of Christianity Today
Executive Producer: Mike Cosper
Host: Sandra McCracken
Producer: Azurae Phelps
Editor and Mix Engineer: Dan Phelps
Music: Tyler Chester
Graphic Design: Chris Bennett
Social Media: Kate Lucky